Do you identify with earth, air, fire or water?

Do you control your emotions, or do they hold you hostage? Would you like to have better access to your intuition? Would you like to express your feelings with greater clarity? If you answered yes to any of these questions, you may want to incorporate more water into your life – the element of expression, fluidity and healing.

Would you like to invite in more ideas? Does worry derail your projects or prevent you from reaching your goals? If this sounds like you, then you may want to incorporate more air into your life – the element of insight, vision and clarity.

What is your passion? What lights you up? Would you like to add more spontaneity to your life? If you answered yes to any of these questions, you may want to incorporate more fire into your life – the element of inspiration and creativity.

The universe is made up of four elements: earth, air, water and fire. The presence of the elements in a person’s individual horoscope reveals different aspects of their personality. By learning how you align with the four elements, you can discover your true self and fulfill your life’s purpose.

Carl Jung was the first modern psychologist to identify personality types based on the four elements; earth, air, fire and water. In Carl Jung’s Psychological Types, published in 1921, he established the four basic personality functions: sensation, intuition, thinking and feeling – which translate to water, air, fire and earth.

To break things down further, thinking translates to cognition and judgment. Feeling translates to what is meaningful to us. Sensation conveys what is real to us through the senses – seeing, hearing, tasting, smelling and touching – and intuition enables us to connect with the driving forces in the background.

In astrology, the Air signs are Aquarius, Gemini, and Libra; Fire signs are Aries, Leo and Sagittarius; Water signs are Pisces, Cancer and Scorpio; and Earth signs are Taurus, Virgo and Capricorn.

The elements and their functions

What category do you fall under?

In order to perform in the world, we need to receive information and then determine how to act on it. Thinking and feeling are judging functions, whereas sensation and intuition are alternative ways of perceiving and receiving information. Two different methods, but both help us process the information we receive.

Thinking and feeling – Air and Water; Aquarius, Gemini and Libra, Pisces, Cancer and Scorpio



Do you consider yourself a logical and rational thinker?

Thinking types tend to be good at science, math or business. Introverted types often like computers and tend to be more techy savvy. They’re usually good at playing the stock market and gambling. Extroverted types often like to lead and organize. They’re born administrators.

Feeling is our emotional radar. It tells us whether something is pleasant or unpleasant, good or bad, helpful or harmful. We need our feeling function when we are dealing with people and making relationship choices. Feeling people make good social workers. Feeling people build relationships on trust, are excellent parents and teachers.

Sensation and Intuition – Earth and Fire; Taurus, Virgo, Capricorn and Aries, Leo and Sagittarius


Are you detail-oriented? Do you have a strong intuitive sense?

We gather information through our physical senses, and use it to discover facts. Sensation types are practical people who spot physical clues that others miss. They make good doctors because they make good diagnoses. As mechanics, they will find the annoying engine noise that electronic devices failed to locate. Sensation is reality-oriented, focused in the here and now. Sensation types remember names and dates and make great collectors.

Intuition informs people us about meaning and implication. It tells us how situations are likely to develop in the future. Intuitive types seem to simply know things; they have hunches but do not know how they know. Intuition is the action of the imagination. People with extroverted intuition know where society is headed and will likely be leaders of new technologies, businesses and fashion trends. They thrive on new ideas and projects. Introverted intuition is the action of creative writers and daydreamers. Intuitive introverts can be happy to dream their lives away without ever bringing their dreams to fruition; they start more than they finish.

Typically, we have one or more of these elements in our astrological charts. By having a better understanding of how these elements are incorporated in your birth sign, the greater self-awareness you will have.

Are you ready to uncover what truly motivates you and better understand your life’s purpose? The four elements can show you how.


Rose signature

Rose Caiola
Inspired. Rewired.

Leave a comment


Subscribe to Our Newsletter